Loneso(me)

Despair overwhelms me
My heart is shriveling
The hole in my center grows larger
I embody despair
I am careening toward emptiness and loneliness with no way to stop

I am me
I only see me
Me is all I want and feel
What more is there than me?

You are on the other side
You are far away – an ocean separates us
What do you matter?
You are not me, yet we are the same

Two me’s can never equal an us
Two me’s are just two me’s
There is no form of joining me
Me is destined to be alone, empty

Where am I without you?
Am I even me?

~ by Sergio Cruz on May 20, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
